The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
10,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am considering grabbing a Fuchs BlackJack 21 Mk. 1. These are loud amps and stay clean well up the dial. I want to enjoy the amp's natural distortion and was thinking about adding a master volume. I contacted an amp tech who said it could be done, but that some other minor mods might be necessary and that adding a master volume might alter the tone of the amp. That got me to wondering whether using an attenuator might be a better idea? Or perhaps some sort of power scaling (like the stuff sold by London Power) might work better?

Since I have no experience with any of these options (well I am obviously used to master volumes, but they were stock and not mods that were added later) I wanted to ask everyone here what they think is the best way to achieve natural amp breakup - master volume, attenuator, or power scaling? I'd be interested in hearing about your own experiences and welcome any advice.

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
I've owned almost every attenuator out there, had my vintage amp modded for a MV, and chased lower volume dirt in numerous way. I've never used power scaling.

How much volume reduction are you looking for? Stage volume, bedroom volume (tv level)? Are you primarily playing/using this alone or in a band context?

TG

·
Premium Member
12,962 Posts
IME and in this order:

- reamper (or loadbox and external amp)
- power attenuator
- power scaling
- master volume

Sadly, those are also the costs from highest to lowest. The advantage of the first two is they can be used with any amp, the last two are dedicated to the amp you install them in. The first two give you real, authentic power tube distortion. The 3rd, kind of. The forth not at all.

I guess it depends on what you want and how much you want to spend.

·
Registered
10,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·