The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. So my Father-in-law is one of those "auction hunter" types. Finds things at yard sales, estate sales, auctions, antique shops and even Value Village, buys them and flips them at auction. He usually does pretty well for himself too. Lately he's been on a guitar buying spree! He's brought home 70's Ovation, a lot of Yamaha acoustics and even an Ibanez 7 string! He usually brings them to me and asks me to go over them, clean them and give them a basic set up (I'm self taught and this is a great way for me to expand my skills) and then he sells them. It's kind of fun. I get my hands on something new and get to noodle around on it for a few days and then get to hone my set up skills. He always pays me back for any strings etc the guitars need.

I usually do a bit of research and help him with the prices but this time I'm a little stumped with what to tell him so I figured I'd ask here. Last week he dropped off a 2008 Squier Strat. It is Indonesian according to the serial number. It is in great condition (aside from previous owner etching their initials into the pick guard). It is black on black on black with a rosewood-esque finger board and a 70's style headstock. So right away I know that people ask a wide range of prices for these, anywhere from $100-$250 depending on how married they are to getting all of their money out of them. But then I notice it has "Duncan Designed" pickups that look like they are tiny humbuckers. I've never seen humbuckers the size of single coils before.

Does this effect the value at all? I'm guessing not much, but I try to give my FIL as close estimate on the price as I can.

·
Registered
275 Posts