The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting pretty deep with this question fellas. I'm a young guy myself at just 22. I'm curious as to what advice you would give yourself if you could go back in time. Can be music or non-music related

Cheers

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Musically my advice to my younger self would have been to go play in someone else's band instead of being the lead singer/lead writer/lead guitarist of my own band. I'm a good singer and writer but not a great front man. Might have had more success as part of someone else's train rather than on my own.

Quit smoking.

Go to university.

Buy stocks.

·
Registered
8,547 Posts
There is a lot of advice I would give my younger self but I will stick to music.

My advice would be to not walk away from guitar as a child to concentrate on sports. Sure you'll have fun playing hockey but your body will eventually make you pay the price for that and you won't pick the guitar up again until you are well into your adult years, which will make things much harder than they needed to be. And although you had a good time in the '80s, you might have had an even better time had you been playing guitar in some band (just think of the women!!!).

·
Registered
24,144 Posts
I would have smacked myself upside the head and told me "Learn to sight read, you shmuck!".

There is certainly a lot one can do by ear, and there is a lot of music that requires very little knowledge or skill of its players to be done well and be enjoyable. But if you can read, there is so much more of the world that will be open to you.

·
Premium Member
3,097 Posts
If you do go the band route. Take lots of pictures. You'll regret it if you don't. Mind you, getting your pictures was a lot more work and expense back in the 60's & 70's. You had to drop the roll of film off somewhere to get them developed and drive back to that place and pay the fee for developing and printing the pictures.

·