The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,572 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the good fortune to have a job that takes me all over the world and I’m currently sitting in Mexico City finishing off a week in several locations in Mexico.

Approximately 50 km north of Mexico City lies the ancient city of Teotihuacan. This was a culture separate and distinct from Aztec and Inca.

I’ve visited the site twice before. Actually if you care to watch, I have quite a few videos on my YouTube channel showing the site.

It’s a special place that I studied about as a kid. The third largest pyramid on the planet (pyramid del sol) is there and you can climb to the top.

Tomorrow I’m taking my boss and an associate from Juarez, Mexico to see it.

What a thrill.

Google Image Result for https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/30/Teotihuac%C3%A1n%2C_M%C3%A9xico%2C_2013-10-13%2C_DD_54.JPG/243px-Teotihuac%C3%A1n%2C_M%C3%A9xico%2C_2013-10-13%2C_DD_54.JPG

Pyramid del Sol

·
Premium Member
16,572 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome stuff.

Ain’t never been there but a visit to that place might help put a few things into perspective same with Machu Picchu.
There are many sites in Mexico I still want to see, not the least of which is Chichen Itza. I’ll get there.

Several noteworthy things.

The elevation is 7000 ft above sea level at the base of the pyramid. I’ve climbed it twice and thought I was going to puke up my lungs.

How the fuck did they build this (no diesel, gas, or even steam power, no hydraulics, no electricity) and how did they make it so strong as to last several thousand years?

·
Registered
6,054 Posts
And no concrete just fitted stones.

Yeah, the O2 thing can slow you down a bit. Met Hillary a couple of times back in the 80s; he was saying he couldn’t handle it above whatever altitude anymore but he would have been in his 60s then - he could still move vodka & tonic pretty good though.

·
Premium Member
16,572 Posts