The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9,286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it's obvious that whomever is on this thread or reading it is a bass player.

The other rhythym guitar player and I are seriously thinking of taking up bass. I think it would be incredible if we had the chops to play lead/rhythym and bass. Plus it would expand our horizons.

Who plays both besides Laristotle?

·
Registered
662 Posts
I play both, but usually just bass in bands. I find bass and guitar go hand in hand because a good general knowledge of guitar chords can take you a long way in creating basslines and help you improve faster.

I like both bass and guitar equally, but I started bass first.

·
Premium Member
16,627 Posts
I used to play both, for the brief time I was a hired bassist.

It's a good skill to have, but I wouldnt be anticipating to switch instruments repeatedly throughout a set - no one likea dead air on stage.

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
I play both ...

But i am a true blood Bass Man first and foremost.

Hell, I even had a drum set at one point to be able to play as much as I wanted since it was mine...

Also went and got a saxophone ( that is very hard to play) to get the life experience on it, Sax is such a cool instrument !:cool:

All that to always come back to the bass baby !!!;) Im the pocket... I'm the beat...

Helps to play different instruments... you develop your style.

The best added feature of being a Bass Man is that everywhere I go, there is 300 guitarist, 150 singers , 50 drummers and 1 Bass Man Baby !!! :cool:

:D

·
Registered
5,487 Posts
I play both ...

But i am a true blood Bass Man first and foremost.

Hell, I even had a drum set at one point to be able to play as much as I wanted since it was mine...

Also went and got a saxophone ( that is very hard to play) to get the life experience on it, Sax is such a cool instrument !:cool:

All that to always come back to the bass baby !!!;) Im the pocket... I'm the beat...