The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So apparently the only audio out on my new Samsung TV is one of those digital ones which I have never used before. My fairly new Sony stereo receiver only has old school red and white analog inputs? Do I have to buy a new receiver? Fork! Would one of those converters on amazon work. Looking at Costco and Best Buy I can't even seem to find a stereo receiver that has a digital input. What are people doing for sound these days?

P

·
0 Posts
So apparently the only audio out on my new Samsung TV is one of those digital ones which I have never used before. My fairly new Sony stereo receiver only has old school red and white analog inputs? Do I have to buy a new receiver? Fork! Would one of those converters on amazon work. Looking at Costco and Best Buy I can't even seem to find a stereo receiver that has a digital input. What are people doing for sound these days?
Does the TV have a 1/8" headphones out jack? If so a 1/8" stereo mini jack to RCA cable will work.

·
Premium Member
3,177 Posts
I have a sound bar that comes with all the different connections to pretty well cover anything. Their not too expensive and could be an option. Mine's a Philips (owned by Gibson if I'm not mistaken) and was less than $100 on sale.

Sound Bars ON SALE

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I have a sound bar that comes with all the different connections to pretty well cover anything. Their not too expensive and could be an option. Mine's a Philips (owned by Gibson if I'm not mistaken) and was less than $100 on sale.

Sound Bars ON SALE
I have two old school 2ft high speakers that I am quite fond of. Would rather keep using them if possible.

·
Premium Member
3,177 Posts
The other converter someone posted is $20 on amazon.