The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being a guitar teacher I notice a lot of my student's lower to mid price electric guitars do not stay in tune very well even if they do not have a whammy and the student is not doing any bends. I notice this in many name brands including the Gibson Epiphones and Fender Squire Strats (particularly bad) although of course their higher priced guitars do not have this problem. There does not seem to be a problem with the tuning of similar priced classical or steel string acoustic guitars. What is causing the strings to go out of tune, why is this confined to electric guitars and are there any lower priced models that do not have this problem?

·
Registered
874 Posts
Perhaps because of the higher cost of the electronics on these guitars as opposed to an acoustic, the companies cut costs by using lower quality tuning machines. I,ve played (and owned) a few low to mid priced Yamaha, Godin and Ibanez electrics with no tuning problems at all.

Tarl

·
Registered
788 Posts
I'd say that it has to do with the neck being narrower and thinner on some cheap instruments, also the wood used was probably not well dried before making the guitar, i would say most of the problems are neck related. On some instruments the remedy could be as simple as tightening the neck bolts and tightening the tuners.

·
Registered
822 Posts
It could be hastily notched saddles or nuts causing strings to bind, since the only major difference between an electric and an acoustic would be the bridges if the same quality of other parts was used for both.

All we can do is wild guess without having the guitars to inspect. You also may be observing a fluke since I have never heard this issue brought up before.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5