The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing tuned down to Eb for the last week or two. I did it to make it easier to sing, but I am really liking the feel of the strings. It's great for stretching, bending and finger vibrato. This was the tuning SRV and Hendrix used. Lots other too I guess. I think Johnny Lang is tuned down on Lie To Me as well.

If you use this tuning tell me why, if you don't, give it a try.

·
Premium Member
973 Posts
I do. I’ m in a cover band. Easier to sing. Also keeps harmonica and accodian players away. Bonus!

I set up my guitars and intonnate them at E b. Not standard E. Works well. I love the spaghetti strings too. Great for bends!

·
Registered
6,591 Posts
I used it for a long time bcs it was easier to sing. Then I started playing with people more and I’d have to capo on the first fret which was no fun. So I went back to standard tuning and just worked a bit more on vocal. However, if the big note is C then it’s a bitch to hit and it’s easier to drop the guitar a half tone down.

P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I use robot tuners which make it easy to go from Eb to open G to E 440 to drop D etc...

·
Registered
4,645 Posts
I've used it when I was learning Hole Hearted by Extreme. Eb gives the guitar an entirley different feel, especially Blues based stuff. Highly recommended. I'm thinking of dedicating my 12 string to Eb tuning fairly soon.

·
Premium Member
4,731 Posts
I tune my 12 string to Eb to lower the tension on the neck.

P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
A friend told me years ago (before the internet) the reason most 12 strings you find in pawn shops are messed up is because they are supposed to be tuned to Eb.

·
Premium Member
11,247 Posts
Weird story.