The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am a toolmaker by trade, i know a little about electricity and electronics, but everything I know is from reading and asking questions. I can follow a layout no problem. But when it comes to terminology I am lost. I'm 99% finished my Trinity build. I need one more component before testing. But before I
_DSC0047.JPG
test I want to add something that is mentioned in the guide as a "convenience"

Here's the deal, In the amp builders guide that comes with a trinity amp, there is a section telling you how to power up the amp for the first time. But because of the dangers of Caps holding juice, they recommend putting in a temporary or permanent resistor to drain that power to ground when the power is shut off. I get that, but what i don't understand is where to put it. The terminology of the description is above my pay grade. LOL

So, you can permanently install a 220k 2W resistor on the B+ line to chassis ground.

So I emailed Stephen at Trinity amps, but his answer is a bit too technical for me. I was not sure what was meant by that, especially since I have added the VRM module. From the description, I assumed I should put a resistor from the B+ ground side of the board to ground. This is the response.

"That would work or might be easier from the first or second filter cap +ve to ground. 220K 2W if you are inclined to do so.
Just put it from positive to negative terminal."

So where is the first and or second filter cap? Is that on the turret board?

Here is a pic of the setup. You'll notice a blue and white wire not hooked up but that is for the indicator light which my cat stole for a toy. Another is on order so I thought I would add this jumper for draining the cap. Hopefully someone can show me where this should go.

·
Registered
4,735 Posts
The first and second filter stage would be the big chassis mounted can cap.