The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I took a guitar course in high shool, didnt learn shit just songs with single note. Now I'm just learning on my own for songs that are popular with tabs. The problem is that I haven't develop the skill of changing notes or like playing notes, not chords, like for fingerstyl songs, and I can't find any video on it at all pls help

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
I am not sure I understand your quest.
As I went from playing chords (arpeggios) to fingerstyle, I had to exercise my quite clusmy fingers on the neck.
I began with short classical pieces to do so.
The idea is to play notes in the first fret with the index finger, the second fret with second finger and so on : that is first position.
There is a video at Homespun by the late Pete Huttlinger about fingerstyle exercises.
P.S. I cannot give any book title since a relative is now using them, look for easy or beginner's classical pieces.

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
I think I'm not a full beginner and like almost intermediate since I know all the basic chords, some other chords that has 7th in it, and I have a decent f chord atm
Well if you're an intermediate player than you should be able to explain more clearly what it is you're trying to work on. A quick Youtube search for fingerstyle guitar tutorial had over 3 million results. You already read tabs so a quick google search should send you on your way. If for example you're having trouble moving between chord shapes while keeping the melody going unfortunately that's something that only practice will fix.

·
Registered
23 Posts
'Dust in the Wind' by Kansas was first just a fingerstyle exercise by the guitarist. His wife said it 'sounds nice write lyrics' for it. Here is a decent 'how to' video. I'm just learning guitar and enjoyed the video.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·