The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wasn’t sure if this should go in sports or open mic..........while I know I am not the most prominent poster here, I like to think I was a little more visible in the community before I became head coach of my sons rep ball team. I have to say, it sure is a lot of work. But I am loving every minute of it. It is an excellent opportunity to be a positive role model to a group of young me(u14 team). My biggest surprise has been the work that it has been doing on me as a person.

Any other coaches present and past here? How did you enjoy your experience?

L

·
0 Posts
I used to be a BB coach for peewee's in my late teens.
The kids were great. They just wanted to have fun.
The parents were the most difficult to deal with.

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
I started coaching Little League when I was 17 as a helper to a friend's dad who was coaching his youngest son. I had a great time doing it and I think the kids liked having somebody closer in age to look up to...I know I did the few times I had younger coaches. I continued coaching for a dozen years until I had my own kids and now I'm enjoying watching them play various sports with no guilt without volunteering... I've put in my time. I may return to coaching later, though, because it was quite rewarding.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
15 Posts
I started coaching football when my son was 7. Two school provincial championships for us as father (head Coach) and son (superstar recruited to AUS university). I moved on to be a running back coach at university. He played in the Canada Cup twice for NB. Took 3 years off after high school. Came back to play with us at UNB, was voted by the other coaches in the league as an all-star DB and we won UNB's first championship in 50 something years.

Football has been life changing for us both.

·
Premium Member
2,182 Posts