The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,026 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working really hard on my guitar playing for a few years now and now that I'm finally seeing results I get a flare up of tennis elbow in my left (fretting hand) side.
Doesn't hurt much while playing but lifting a certain way hurts quite a bit and after a night of playing I'm rather sore in the morning.
Has any of you dealt with this? What did you do? How well did it work? Giving up playing is not an option!

·
Premium Member
1,357 Posts
Last year I was working hard to learn a solo with lots of bends and it resulted in the same thing as you're experiencing. I've had bouts of tendonitis before and tried all the snakeoil treatments but nothing seemed to work as well as just laying off it for a while. It doesn't mean you have to quit playing but you do have to be aware that the harder you work it, the longer it will take to heal.
On the other hand, I work with a 65 year old cowboy (active team roper) who had tendonitis so bad he couldn't hold a rope any longer (or a cup of coffee for that matter). He was recommended to a sports physio guy who did IMS (intermuscular stimulation). I won't bore you with the details of the procedure since you can google it at will, but I will offer testimony that in his case it absolutely worked after 4 treatments. This was 3 years ago and he continues to rope with no further issues. He told me at the time it was one of the most painful things he's ever experienced (and he's broken a lot of bones). His physiotherapist warned him "You're gonna hate me...". Apparently with this procedure, the pain indicates that it is working. No pain, no success.

·
Administrator
15,979 Posts