The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had this one guitar since late june. i got it for my birthday, i havent replaced any strings yet. About how often should you re string your guitar and what are the differences in string guage? i was thinking regular gauge dean markley strings, but my grandpa says i should get medium gauge.

rock on GCers:rockon2:

·
Registered
35 Posts
Kind of on the same line as the previous post, I have been playing (amateurishly) for 12 years, and I recently got into metal and I was wondering what the best guage for fast lead metal playing was? I just want opinions because I asked at like 4 guitar stores and got(you guessed it) 4 different answers.

Thanks

·
Registered
635 Posts
Vassago said:
Kind of on the same line as the previous post, I have been playing (amateurishly) for 12 years, and I recently got into metal and I was wondering what the best guage for fast lead metal playing was? I just want opinions because I asked at like 4 guitar stores and got(you guessed it) 4 different answers.

Thanks
That's because there's no such thing as a "best" gauge. It's really all up to personal preference and your playing style. One thing you'll notice, though, is that most people that are serious about playing don't go below 10's for a multitude of reasons. I play 11's on all of my guitars and like them.

And ShadowRiffer- just like string gauge, there's really no hard and fast rules about when to change your strings. Some people like old, dead sounding strings and some people (like me) like the bright zingy sound of new ones. Some people wear out strings quicker by sweating a lot, playing a lot or having that crazy sweat that could melt the paint off thier guitar if they're not careful. :smile: