The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few months ago the truss rod on my '99 American Strat bottomed out. I added four washers and straightened the neck. Recently it bottomed out again. The nut was getting chewed up from all the adjusting, so i ordered a new one and added two more washers as that was all that would fit. I got it straight, the neck very quickly shifted again and now it's bottomed out again.
I'm not sure where to go from here, is the neck toast, or is there something more I can do?
None of my cheap guitars have this problem, I'm not too thrilled with Fender right now.

·
Premium Member
152 Posts
Wow, I'm no expert but it sounds like the body side of the truss rod is pulling through somehow.. Is the nut end securely on the threads or could they be getting stripped?

Reactions: greco

·
Premium Member
17,856 Posts
Wow, I'm no expert but it sounds like the body side of the truss rod is pulling through somehow.. Is the nut end securely on the threads or could they be getting stripped?
Excellent logical comment and question.

I'm following with interest.

·
Premium Member
204 Posts
Re Dan Erlwine helping the truss rod by clamping the neck, you can make some neck cauls with a hole saw on a piece of 2x4 and just split it after. Of course having clamps helps too. Also watch that your washers aren't "cupping" .. some soft thin washers will do that.

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Great thread guys ! These very days, I was thinking about just adding a washer or two under the bolt but I feared that putting more pressure between the neck and the fretboard could damage the fretboard (or cause a disruption of the glued joint).
I understand from Stewmac report that if the unscrewed truss rod show it slides too much along the neck, adding a washer or more could do it (unless the soldered joint is broken... but then a washer would not help, nor causes any damage).