The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,373 Posts
I haven't been called in years. I always politely said no, I'm not in a financial position. I guess they gave up. Education institutions are chronically underfunded anyway. All universities ask alumni for donations and have done so for years and will continue to do so.

·
Premium Member
26,949 Posts
I graduated from 3 universities. Only the last one contacted me for donations. Being as that one charged me more in continuing registration fees (which included athletic fees for the use of a gym that was several thousand miles away) while I was off on the other side of the country for 4 years than I paid for the first two degrees, I figured I had done my fair share.

That said, tuition covers only a modest fraction of the cost of university, so they have to get their money from somewhere. And the somewhere includes both wealthy and not so wealthy benefactors, in addition to whatever the university makes from investing research grants, and government funding. It takes a lot of money to operate a university.