Votes: 10 22.7%
  • No

Votes: 34 77.3%
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I got my first REAL telecaster...well 51 Nocaster relic actually...a month or two ago and after a neck pickups swap (Twisted Tele) I am head over heels.

I've always been the kind of guy who wants just one guitar all night. And traditionally I've played strats. So I'm thinking of having a luthier route this Nocaster for a middle pickup. After playing an American Pro FSR today at L&M I think the three pickup Tele might just be the ticket.

I know the value of the guitar would go down. I don't plan on selling her. If anything I might move along my Silver Sky (gasp!) if this scratches the same itch.

Aside from value is there really any downside here?

·
Registered
5,953 Posts
I voted no but only because thats what would be best for me. Its your guitar and you can do with it what you wish. If you want to mod, knock your self out. I have a Relic Masterbuilt Nocaster and I wouldn't touch it. I do love those twisted tele pickups and I'm going to keep my eyes open for another Tele that I can put a pair of TT pickups in.
It briefly crossed my mind to put a middle pickup in mine. I don't ever plan on selling my guitar either. But I just couldn't bring my self to do it. Likely I'm going to look around for a decent parts caster with the right neck on it for me to do these mods to.
I'm also a player that likes to play the same guitar all night at a gig.
I spent many years back in the 80's and 90's modding guitars constantly. I finally started just buying guitars that I like just the way they are. I think its more prudent to just use a parts-caster to do the experimenting with and customizing. This way you won't lose value on your CS Fender.

·
Registered
1,603 Posts
Can a pedal or two not get you what you want versus "altering" the guitar?