The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Premium Member
802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been trying to round out my guitar collection to cover the bases I actually play in. For reference I am a paid professional in the Christian/Church world and a weekend warrior with some country acts. Here's my current stable of gear:

Suhr Custom Classic Antique (HSS or SSS available)
American Standard HSS w/Suhr Electronics throughout
Gretsch Elliot Easton w/Filtertrons
Epi Les Paul MIK with stock electronics
Alvarez Slimbody Acoustic/Electric
Line 6 Helix
Vox AC15 w/Blue
*High End Partscaster incoming with SSS configuration

The things I'd like to have at my disposal:
Tele
A better acoustic
Deluxe Reverb
A small pedalboard

Ok so if you read all of that you'll see I have 3 nice strats one being a Suhr worth about $3kCDN. It's easily the nicest guitar in the stable and the most enjoyable to play. However, $3k can fill a lot of gaps in the arsenal and my other strats certainly aren't shabby. BTW, I absolutely can't get rid of the American Strat...it was a wedding gift from my wife in 2002 so I just can't move it....well unless I get a black Suhr strat and pass it off as the same axe with a new neck...lol...but let's run on the assumption I have to keep that one.

What is a boy to do? Should I move on from the Suhr or go without some other things I could really make use of?

And before I get a pep talk about first world problems or that I've got a lot of bases covered...yes, I know that! That's not what I need here. Some perspective on high end pieces IS what I need lol.

Thanks all!

·
Premium Member
4,432 Posts
Just my opinion, i would never invest a fair amount of cash in just one instrument just cause i like to have a few instruments that i dont mind gigging and not having to worry about instruments being dropped, stolen etc..... Get what makes you happy i say. You can always buy an expensive guitar later down the road. Again, just my opinion.

·