The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Shellac is a product that gets little attention, and hugely underrated in my opinion. It offers excellent protection, buffs to any sheen you desire, sticks to anything and anything sticks to it, repairable like lacquer, dries very quickly, etc.

Best of all, it feels silky smooth on the back of a guitar neck. Feels nicer than bare wood and not plasticy like lacquer can. I'm a fan of lacquer over oil - but for guitar necks, shellac is by far my favourite.

IMG_2070.JPG

·
Premium Member
3,177 Posts
That's a beauty neck - what's the wood?

Personally I love oil. Laquer is good too , but needs some wear-in before it's nice. Poly is just a show stopper (on a neck) - that never stops feeling plasticy and kinda sticky (or not sticky, but what's the word.... too much grip/traction). I have no knowledge of shellac at all.

·
Premium Member
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's a beauty neck - what's the wood?

Personally I love oil. Laquer is good too , but needs some wear-in before it's nice. Poly is just a show stopper (on a neck) - that never stops feeling plasticy and kinds sticky (or not sticky, but what's the word.... too much grip/traction). I have no knowledge of shellac at all.
The wood is Black Limba (Korina).

I find the water-based poly had a much better feel than solvent based. In satin anyway.

Shellac just had an amazing feel. Tough to get the very fine scratches out - can't use the power buffer on it. But they're hardly noticeable except in sunlight. And I think the feel makes up for it.

Assembling this guitar today - if all goes well, will post a pic later on. Just finishing up buffing the body.

·
Registered
911 Posts
Oh my!

Looks awesome Andrew. Is this going to be in Elmira????

Must....not buy.. ...any......more.....guitars.....

Ok you need to tell us the details of this build!!

·
Registered
7,207 Posts
The wood is Black Limba (Korina).