The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to teles and I am really GASsing for one right now.

I'm thinking either an American Vintage '62 reissue or a classic series 60s tele.

I was wondering if anyone is familiar with these models and if there is a quality difference that justifies the price difference between the two.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
5,121 Posts
For the money the Classic series are great. However, for the money the CIJ (Crafted In Japan) models are a much better deal. Even with shipping you can get one for well less than the high end MIM Fenders. And they come with Fender USA pickups and hardware. You can find them used locally a lot of times too. They make a BEAUTIFUL 62' RI and they are only about $650 Canadian with shipping from somewhere like Ishibashi (huge Japan music store).

·
Registered
5,740 Posts
...i can identify.

recently i've gotten it bad for teles - its become an obsession. i have two, and crave more.

the music store guys, when i confess my addiction, just smile knowingly and proclaim: "eventually, they all come around."

a 52 reissue will bring you to your knees.

-dh

·
Registered
526 Posts
if you can find one, try a 1980's MIJ droptop w/basswood body.
I've owned MIA and MIM as well but they just don't have that "thang" my MIJ has.

·
Premium Member
1,285 Posts
And don't sell the MIM models short. I never thought that I would buy a Made in Mexico guitar, but my Muddy Waters Tele puts some of my U.S. made Teles to shame. The fit & finish and playability makes it one of favorite guitars. And it's got looks to kill!

·
Premium Member
5,121 Posts
david henman said:
a 52 reissue will bring you to your knees.

-dh