The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, i'm new!

I started playing guitar a few months ago but i'm still a noob, and being a complete noob i bought a valveking 112. Anyways I find myself finding time to practice only late at night and so i find it overkill to use such an amp for such quiet volumes... so I think I should buy a solid-state amp...

what do you guys recommend?

I'm having a hard time finding a Roland dealer in my area, so i might end up buying from the states as this gives me more amps to choose from.

Here's a quicklist of what I'm interested in Getting

Roland Cube 30/60
Roland Blues Cube 60
Tech 21 Trademark 30/60

any advice? oh yah i also found the sound of my valveking changed lately... is this an indication of tubes going bad? are tubes replaceable at home??

thanks guys!

·
Registered
2,614 Posts
Well I'm a little biased here but I've got a Tech 21 Trademark 60 and in all honesty I really think it's the most tube sounding solid state amp out there. Roland cubes are nice as well. I used to own a Jazz Chorus 77 and they're great for clean sounds. I'm afraid I can't help you with your ValveKing but I'm sure somebody will have an answer for you as there are all kinds of helpful people here. Welcome to the forum and enjoy! :wave:

·
Registered
3,328 Posts
If you are considering the Roland Cube then you may also want to consider the VOX DA5. A great little practice amp with effects and amp simulations.

Coincidentally, I just happen to know of a good deal on a used one! :) Seriously, even if you don't want mine you should check one out. PM me if you are interested though, and please excuse the spam (although I thought it was appropriate given your question).

TG

·
Registered
3,833 Posts