The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is no doubt a dumb question but I have zero experience in live guitar recording. I want to be able to play and record the chords to a song and then play that back and play/record the lyrics on top so that I end up with an integrated recording. What equipment do I need to achieve this?

Phil

·
Premium Member
3,209 Posts
Mic + integrated sound card (i.e. w mic preamp) + computer + DAW software.

Alternatively any small Portastudio type device + a mic.Some have a built in mic. Note; some stereo/2 track recorders (e.g. smaller Zooms) do not support overdubbing - you'd have to sing and play at the same time.

The first is expandable the second isn't.

For mics in the budget category I strongly suggest staying away from condensers. With those, go big or go home. Cheap ribbons and dynamic mics (especially large diaphram dynamics) are quality workhorses at a much lower cost. The Apex 110B ribbon is 150ish at L&M. Shure SM7b or EV RE20 or Heil PR40 are large diaphram dynamics (I prefer the latter 2) that can be had for 300 used or 600 ish new (tjhe Heil is a bit cheaper) . Even just an SM57 is great on guitar and vox.

DAW is a no brainer - Reaper. Smaller and faster than the big boys but does all they do. Free trial (and like $50 legit non pro license which you don't have to pay for but I rec you do cuz they good ppl).

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
To save a lot of typing, here is a link that gives you some very general knowledge:

How to Record Electric Guitar

If you have any questions after your viewing, come on back. This site has many members who perform and record regularly and are often willing to help out.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #5