The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to start a dedicated thread on this topic as I don't remember ever seeing one in the GC forum through the years.

This is copied and pasted from another thread where @loudtubeamps (Thank You) writes:

Hey guys....while we're on the topic of speakers..... I have a number of Fender baskets/frames, most are 12" a few 10's (alnico) and from late 60's to mid 70's.
I have been contemplating tossing them for a few years now but I just can't bring myself to seeing these in a scrap pile!
I would imagine Santon Audio or someone out there would have kits. I do recones myself but I'm not interested in refurbishing these ones.
If anyone is interested and wants 'em...they're yours for the taking.

I'd like to try reconing a speaker if I knew for certain that I could get the correct kit.

I live reasonably close to QComponents and they have many kits available...
Search results

I have watched a few videos and it seems like a rewarding and challenging project.

Any comments, advice, etc?

These kits are not inexpensive and that makes me a bit apprehensive.

Thanks

Dave

·
Premium Member
608 Posts
I too looked into reconing a speaker I agree it looks like a VERY challenging DIY project. Then last summer during an outdoor gig, my floor monitors each took a bucket load of rain water, and the cones tore like wet paper. I took them to a local guy I had often heard good things about, assuming he would replace the speakers. Well for less than $200 he reconed one, and repaired the tear in the other. Unbelievably good job! They're still working great.

It may be worth your trip from Kitchener to see him. You won't find a web site. He's a little old man with a shop that looks like an electronics hoarder's paradise. I can't believe I don't remember his name at the moment. You can find him at:
Alpha Electronics
905-271-6828
256 Lakeshore Road East in Mississauga