The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody,

I have a question and I'm hoping some resident experts can help me out.

1) I've been playing electric for about 8 months now (played acoustic only for about 1.5 years) so while I have a solid understanding of chords, most aspects of technique, etc. I never really got into doing full-step bends until a couple of months ago.

Problem I'm having is that when I release a full-step bend on the high E or B string, 90% of the time I can hear a very subtle ringing (almost like a "hum") from the string(s) directly above them. To illustrate this, I am trying to learn the first solo from "Comfortably Numb" which starts out with a quick rake, then jumps to a full step bend and release at the 14th fret on the high E string. My intonation is OK, and I have no probs just bending up to the note; the problem is coming back down quickly.

My instructor mainly plays acoustic and didn't really seem to know how to prevent this slight "hum" I seem to get most of the time. Haven't found much helpful info on the internet, mostly people just saying "mute the strings" or "work on your technique".....not terribly helpful suggestions. I've been trying for a few weeks to bring my index finger up and onto the strings while releasing in order to mute the strings above the string being bent, but this isn't working out very well. I've also tried using palm muting, but most of the time I end up muting the string I am releasing.

So to sum up: Problem is quickly releasing a full-step bend on the high E or B string usually produces a very slight "hum" sound from the string (or strings) above the string being bent. It doesn't happen if I slowly release the bend or if I only do a half-step bend.