The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had to wear glasses for 49 years. On Wednesday I had prosthetic lens implanted in my right eye due to cataracts. OH GAWD, I WISH I HAD THIS DONE YEARS AGO. Even though the left eye is totally nearsighted, I can actually watch TV without glasses. I am writing this without glasses. There are minute cataracts in the left, but I don't give a shit! I want it replace ASAP. My sight has gone from 20/200 to 20/40. As an amateur photographer, I immediately noticed the difference in contrast and colour balance. Cataracts apparently disperse blues light and images can appear 500-1000K warmer.

I am now writing this thread w/o glasses, with just one good eye. I love it!!!!!

·
Premium Member
2,021 Posts
That's great, Robert.

I can barely remember what it was like to function without glasses - been a solid 20 years or so for me now.

Here's hoping you can get something similar done on the other eye.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Good for you.

You're going to get the other eye done, right? How long did you wait for the surgery?

My mother-in-law had it done here in Korea. She waited about 2 weeks to get the first eye done (she went in to get tested for Lasik surgery, not knowing she had cataracts).

·
Premium Member
13,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I had to wait about three months. In Durham Region, all eye surgeries are done at the Bowmanville Hospital. Part of the Harris corporate reorganization of hospitals a few year ago.