The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear members,

I have an Ibanez SR600 bass and I love everything about it, except the finish. I do like the color (red), but it has that glossy finish that gets damaged very easily, and in my case, it already is. What I want to do is to have it professionally refinished with the same color, but with a rough matte finish, and add some kind of engraved texture onto it (not really a fan of colorful textures).

Could anybody suggest a good luthier or a woodworker anywhere in the Greater Toronto Area or so, who does just that?

Thanks! :food-smiley-004:

·
Registered
58 Posts
I have been a Luthier now since 1988 and restore many instruments of all kinds. Im not sure what you mean by,

(a rough matte finish, and add some kind of engraved texture onto it (not really a fan of colorful textures).

If you want a matte finish on your guitar then thats no big deal, but is it "Realeaf carving" that you want?

I live in Chatham about 3 hours from you.

Dennis

·
Registered
58 Posts
It's hard to give a price like that without seeing the guitar. To give a rough $$ amount would be $250.00 to $350.00, not knowing what the body is like. Also that is not the $ amount of the panit, I would have to match the colour and I am at the mercy of the paint shop for that. Base clear is probably the best to go with for an electric guitar. I could put matte lacquer on the guitar if that is what you want but it won't be as hard as the base clear. I don't work with the polyester paint that the factory would have put on, just somthing to remember, nothing is going to be as tough as that stuff. Also what did you mean about "engraved texture"
Dennis

·
Registered
58 Posts
Im not sure if giving prices of work or such is a good thing here or not, if not Im sorry for that. If you need to know anything regarding Money maters then just email me.
Dennis

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7