The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a really dumb question but I don’t know who to ask....so here goes.

I just purchased a new Taylor 314CE guitar. Sound is amazing and the body size is a nice fit. One of my complaints on my last guitar ( Martin DX1RAE) was the body was too big for me. When I bought the Taylor 2 days ago I played every guitar in the store (under $3000.00) and the only 2 I liked was the Taylor 314ce and the Gibson J45. I chose the Taylor because the body seemed to be a better fit. I never considered the neck in my decision.

HOWEVER.... now i have the guitar home I am finding it’s hard to play. Just a note that I am just learning but I can play some basic finger style tunes (I.e John Prine stuff).

Now I am trying to determine if the scale on the neck of this particular guitar is too large for me. Is this something that could be the case? I mean are the spaces between the frets different or is all this standard? Could the action just be to high? It looks like the strings are a little high off the frets. Can these be lowered and will lowering them help with the playability? I know the scale length on the J45 is 24 3/4 while the Taylor is 25 1/2. Will this make a difference? Is this a big difference. The scale length on my Martin was 25.4!

What do you all think? Am I thinking too much? Is it just because it’s a new guitar and I just need time to adjust? Is the neck on this guitar larger than most making it harder to play? Will adjusting the action help?

I am thinking about returning it and getting the J45 instead because I think the neck is smaller making it easier to play. I’ll have to deal with the body being too large I guess!

·
Registered
6,363 Posts
Sounds like you might benefit from a small body guitar with a shorter scale length.

But either way, learning play and training your hands takes a lot of work.