The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Administrator
17,307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been messing around with these two guitars for a some time now. The Newsom I've had for years and I've tried countless pairs of humbuckers in it but it's never been "quite right" until now. I picked up a pair of '57 Classics from @Hamstrung at the Elmira show this year and decided to give them a try. Instant bliss. I can't believe the transformation, a perfect match for this guitar. It had a pair of Tone Emporium TE-20's in it that I was going to sell but after looking around the room I spied the Gordon Smith sitting forlornly on the wall. Love that guitar, it's light, plays easy, and has a great neck humbucker, but i really don't like the bridge. What the hell, I thought, why not try the TE's in there? perfect. Guitar sounds much bigger and richer in both positions. Win win.

I've been experimenting with pick up changes for well over 20 years and I think these 2 have been by far the most satisfying, and I didn't have to spend $400 per pickup either.

Horses for Courses, as they say.

·
Premium Member
3,027 Posts
I've been messing around with these two guitars for a some time now. The Newsom I've had for years and I've tried countless pairs of humbuckers in it but it's never been "quite right" until now. I picked up a pair of '57 Classics from @Hamstrung at the Elmira show this year and decided to give them a try. Instant bliss. I can't believe the transformation, a perfect match for this guitar. It had a pair of Tone Emporium TE-20's in it that I was going to sell but after looking around the room I spied the Gordon Smith sitting forlornly on the wall. Love that guitar, it's light, plays easy, and has a great neck humbucker, but i really don't like the bridge. What the hell, I thought, why not try the TE's in there? perfect. Guitar sounds much bigger and richer in both positions. Win win.