·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Nostalgia...

Milkman said:
This

http://www.yorkville.com/products.asp?type=32&cat=18&id=93

Sounds quite nice actually.

Trying it with my number two Locking guitar, an RG1570 with EMGs.

I like it a lot so far. The cleans are VERY clean, but warm.

Back in 2000 when I was a road salesman selling parts I used to call on Yorkville. One day the buyer took me into the back to meet Ray, one of their engineers. I had been bugging them for a long time about re-introducing some tube guitar amps into their product line. Ray had designed the YCV40 and had his prototype in pieces all over his bench, patched together with wires and cords.

I was the first guy outside of Yorkville to play this amp! I was "pleased as punch", to use an old phrase. The amp impressed me greatly. Ray mostly stuck to a vintage Fender signal path, only using solid state to drive an old style springy reverb tank. He also used a Celestion instead of those old Marslands Pete Traynor put in. They were ok for the money but nowhere near as sweet as a Celestion.

You should be smiling for a long, long time!

·
Premium Member
16,572 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wild Bill said:
Back in 2000 when I was a road salesman selling parts I used to call on Yorkville. One day the buyer took me into the back to meet Ray, one of their engineers. I had been bugging them for a long time about re-introducing some tube guitar amps into their product line. Ray had designed the YCV40 and had his prototype in pieces all over his bench, patched together with wires and cords.

I was the first guy outside of Yorkville to play this amp! I was "pleased as punch", to use an old phrase. The amp impressed me greatly. Ray mostly stuck to a vintage Fender signal path, only using solid state to drive an old style springy reverb tank. He also used a Celestion instead of those old Marslands Pete Traynor put in. They were ok for the money but nowhere near as sweet as a Celestion.