The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I have right now a Peavey G-V 5 strings bass with graphite neck.

I've tried last week a Lakland 55-01 (Skyline ???) and I loved it, but I don't want to make a move I'll regret ...

The store manager offers me a good deal on exchange (700.00 back for the peavey). and the Lakland is 1000.00.

Any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
I honestly can't help you as I've no experience with either of those two basses, other than knowing they both have a great rep. I myself am always wanting something else, even when my own rigs are top-notch.

Good luck - keep us posted.

·
Registered
69 Posts
The Skylines are great basses for the price, especially if you're after something along the lines of a traditional Fender Jazz tone.

Having said that much, I snagged a Peavey Cirrus 5 as a backup recently and I am really surprised by it.

Tough choice, especially if you really like your Peavey. I guess I'm not much help at all. :) Good luck.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
:DevilGuitar: I guess I'll have to convince the wife that I need another bass...:DevilGuitar:

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Renniw said:
:DevilGuitar: I guess I'll have to convince the wife that I need another bass...:DevilGuitar:
Now you're talkin!

I'm playing this game with my wife right now. "I realize my new bass showed up last week, but now that I have a 5-string, I really should have a 4 string for something different".

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
She just got herself a brand new Jetta TDI 2006, I guess I can play on that to get my Lakland...:D

·
Registered
97 Posts
Well, I'd definately go with the Skyline. Great basses that hold their value in comparison to the Yamahas (imho). You can't go wrong with a Skyline. I've played the USA Laklands side by side with the Skylines and I was hard pressed to feel and hear much difference.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts