The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
But can anyone maybe tell me what this could be? It was my Dad's and it's in sad shape. There is no lable on the inside and at one time it was in pieces. It needs a complete fret re-dress and the laquer needs to be stripped cause I'm pretty sure at one time it was a tobacco burst. It still sounds ok though. I'm quite sure it's not worth the money it would cost to have it restored. I'm new to the postig pics thing so I hope this works. Oh yeah all that is inside is a very faded number under the neck it's 5 digits then a dash and 2 digits.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Well, it's a Gibson acoustic guitar, that's what it is. :tongue:

If you strip the brown lacquer, whatever is underneath it will also come off. You'd probably need to have it totally refinished if you did that.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ha! Ooh you're a smart one! :smile: I'm just trying to get an idea of what it could be before I take it to the fret. I tried on the Gibson site as well as some other sources and come up empty. I think the number is the production number or something like that. It's pretty small as well. It's a smidge smaller than my Taylor Big Baby, but it's heavy and obviously solid wood and it feels really wonderful to play. And in the end that's all that matters.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
I'd get in touch with Gibson if I were you. They could probably tell you what it is with the serial number.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I tried that and did not get a response from them.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hey thanks, I've seen that and it was a little convoluted cause the number that I have doesn't really look like anything they list. That's when I tried to contact them to no avail.

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
I'm no expert, but with a bit of research on Google, think I found got an answer.