The Canadian Guitar Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6,668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever just left the Fender stock 3 barrel saddles on there Telecaster\Nocaster and had dead on intonation?
I'm just curious. I have a friends Masterbuilt Nocaster heavy relic at my house for a few weeks. I was comparing the intonation on it to my telecaster with Rutters saddles. The Masterbuilt with the stock fender saddles is dead on just as accurate as my Rutters, if not a little better.
Just wondering if this is common or if its something to do with the Masterbuilt quality.
I may be buying a CS Nocaster and if the stock saddles are going to give me good intonation I'll just leave them

·
Premium Member
1,363 Posts
I own 2 teles, 1 with compensates and 1 without.
They are both dead on.

You can tweak the old school saddles way more than people realize, a shift up or down can give you pretty good intonation.

Nathan

·
Premium Member
5,415 Posts
My sand blasted telecaster was as close as i have ever seen for perfect intonation with the normal stock saddles. i was quite shocked, so was my luthier. LOL

Reactions: Budda

·
Registered
1,947 Posts
When you think of the 752,546 songs that have been recorded on a stock tele,seems to me they work just fine.
Leo was seldom wrong .

·
Registered
824 Posts
When you think of the 752,546 songs that have been recorded on a stock tele,seems to me they work just fine.
Leo was seldom wrong .
Correlation between the songs recorded and the accuracy of the intonation aren't causal.
This is a logical fallacy.

In my experience, the three saddle system is never spot on, but to most that doesn't matter if it's within a few hz of 440

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
In my experience, the three saddle system is never spot on, but to most that doesn't matter if it's within a few hz of 440
I had to check my highway one Telecaster after reading this and the worst one was out .7Hz at the 12th fret.

·
Registered
6,668 Posts