The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again. I just introduced myself a while ago and thought I would have lots of questions while building my first guitar. Turned out it wasn't too bad. The parts were from StewMac. Since I have no experience with laquer I finished with ordinary wood stain and polymerized tung oil. I am definitely going to try this again. Here it is.

·
Registered
644 Posts
Well done! That's a great looking guitar. Tung Oil is always an excellent choice if you don't have spray equipment. How's it sound? Give us some specs too please.:bow:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for the words folks. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot building this. And it definitely whetted my appetite to try something a bit more challenging.
As far as how it plays, preliminary comments are very favourable. I can't really tell you myself because I don't play, I built this for my son. Also, there is still some setup to do before it is finished. I need to check string heights, intonation, etc. But even unfinished it sounds great to me.
Gotoh tuners
Gotoh traditional tremolo
I put in the pre-wired pick guard from StewMac for a couple of reasons. One, I really didn't know anything about pick-ups so wouldn't have known where to best spend the money.
Two, I was running short of cash and it was one of the last items on the list.
Three, I wanted something that would help me finish the project faster and that could be swapped out later without too much bother.
Anyone have any suggestions on decent quality pick-ups that won't entirely break the bank?

·
Registered
644 Posts
Thanks for the words folks. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot building this. And it definitely whetted my appetite to try something a bit more challenging.