The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,658 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That has to be one of the coolest looking mandolins I have ever seen. I like they way they styled those.

Yeah I like it so far. I looked at some solid bodies shaped like Teles or Firebirds but they seemed a bit cheesy. This was a lot more coin that they were, but I play mandolin in around four tunes a night and I've been using an old Washburn (quite nice) for about twenty years.

This one should sound better out front.

We'll see.

·
Premium Member
11,010 Posts
Congratulations! I love those things and came close to buying one so many times.

Many of them need a slight action tweak and I've shimmed the neck pocket on two or three for customers. It's a quick and easy fix IF it needs it. Having jammed a few times with one I can say they're fantastic plugged in and acceptable for quiet practice too. A seperate pre-amp or DI gives a bit control over the signal but they're fine plugged in direct. If they even add a magnetic pickup...wow!

Peace, Mooh.

·
Premium Member
16,658 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Congratulations! I love those things and came close to buying one so many times.

Many of them need a slight action tweak and I've shimmed the neck pocket on two or three for customers. It's a quick and easy fix IF it needs it. Having jammed a few times with one I can say they're fantastic plugged in and acceptable for quiet practice too. A seperate pre-amp or DI gives a bit control over the signal but they're fine plugged in direct. If they even add a magnetic pickup...wow!

Peace, Mooh.
Thanks man.

I always use active DIs for instruments like this. I'll have to assess the action this evening. Actually I'd like to have my old Washburn mandolin set up. I've had it for more than 20 years and it could use a little TLC.

·
Premium Member
11,010 Posts