The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone. like the title says i am new to guitars i bought one fri. afternoon. i have never played a insterment in my life except maybe the recorder back in public school. so any hints tips would be a help. also any good books out there i could pickup.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
Firstly, welcome to the forums:wave:

What kind of music do you like? Is your new guitar an acoustic or an electric?

Also, a chord book would be helpful, just to learn some basic chords.

:rockon:

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Give us a little info on your likes and dislikes and I'm sure you'll find the help you need.

A good chord book and lessons are the way to go for sure.

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
+1 to Xanadu. Also, you may want to look into some lessons - even just for a couple of months so you have a handle on basic chords, phrasing etc...
If you have the passion, the rest will come, but get off to a good start.

Down the road, if you start jamming with friends, remember this wise piece of advice - the bass player is the true leader of the band! :D

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
james on bass said:
+1 to Xanadu. Also, you may want to look into some lessons - even just for a couple of months so you have a handle on basic chords, phrasing etc...
If you have the passion, the rest will come, but get off to a good start.

Down the road, if you start jamming with friends, remember this wise piece of advice - the bass player is the true leader of the band! :D
you wish:sport-smiley-002: lol

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
james on bass said:
shhhh. He's new, he might believe us!
I thought you wanted him to get off on the right foot, telling him that will get him off on his left foot....:D

Welcome to the forums...:wave:

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
you're supposed to have a bass player in the band? Oh right, cause you need someone to translate for the drummer!

·
Registered
2 Posts