The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Dean Markley 15x little cheapo amp which I really hate and want to replace. It sounds terrible and I need something that sounds a little more crisp.

Anyone know what kind of amp I should look at? My price range is sort of low since I'm only 14.

I'd go between 150-250 dollars.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have.
(I'm ganna check a few stores in and around Moncton if that helps any residents)

·
Registered
283 Posts
whatever you do, don't really look at how cheap an amp is and how many watts it is. try to find a small tube amp. I've gone through a bunch of different amps(now im 18 years old). my first amps were solid state and i was never happy with them. finally I have a valve amp and wish I had just bought one when I started playing with other musicians. chances are, if you're 14 you may not be playing in a band so don't be worried about how many watts the amp is. Just find something that sounds good, has a range of volume and features you're looking for.

·
Registered
596 Posts
Are you jamming with other players or just learning to play guitar by yourself at home? If it's the latter, I wouldn't buy an amp at all. Instead I'd get something like this:

http://www.behringer.com/V-AMP2/index.cfm?lang=ENG

I wish this technology existed when I first started playing. For $100 you get a whackload of modeled amps, distortions, effects, tuner, etc. Perfect for headphones or plug into a boombox or home stereo - or computer soundcard to play around with recording. Of course you can plug it into the front of an amp too.

Later on, when you're playing in a band, etc, you'll need a good tube amp but for now I say this is the ONLY way to go.

·
Registered
3,310 Posts