The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, since Valvekings are known for bad speakers, i've decided to get a speaker off Ebay and slap it into my Valveking 112.

The current speaker is: A 30W(I think) 12in. 16 ohms Valveking(R) speaker.

So here are the questions:

1. Can any old speaker that's 12in. work on my amp?
2. Is actually taking the Speaker out and putting the new one in easy? Can I do It myself?
3. Would it be a good idea getting a used one off ebay? (or maybe new)
4. And of course, any recommended speaker? I've been looking at Celestions and Eminence's
I'm liking this one: Clicky

·
Registered
874 Posts
I'm no expert on this stuff but you do have to match the speaker you put in. That is it should be a 12 inch 16 ohm and be able to handle the wattage of your amp. A used speaker in good shape may be preferable as it is already broken in. Depending on the configuration of the amp, installing a speaker can be very simple or a real pain in the butt. Personally I love Celestions but prefer Tone Tubbys (which are lots of $$$$). http://www.steamcomusic.com/ sells pre-broken in new celestions they call hellatone speakers.

·
Premium Member
1,386 Posts
You have to give us a little more. Answer these questions and I'm sure you will get plenty of response.

What style of music do you play/ whose guitar tones are you after?

Would you prefer your amp to be slightly quieter (so you can open it up better for tube distortion), slightly louder (more headroom before distortion and overall volume), or stay the same?

Also changing speakers on most single speaker combo amps is very easy. It just involves detatching the connectors, loosing the nuts that hold down the old speaker, pulling off the speaker, carefully putting the new speaker in (careful the bolts don't touch the cone), putting the nuts back on and reattatching the cable to the new speaker.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4