The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I've been a pianist my entire life but I recently fell in love with the sound of acoustic guitars! Since stores are still closed to the public, I was wondering if anyone could give me some good acoustic guitar suggestions for a beginner to purchase. Thanks!

·
Registered
836 Posts
I'm a piano player who also plays guitar. My own lifetime guitar is a dobro but I imagine you'd enjoy some kind of small body "parlour" guitar. I can't make brand recommendations. Why a parlour guitar? You're a natural for finger picking and small-body guitars tend to be more transparent so you can hear the multiple voices in a finger-picked arrangement.

·
Registered
1,650 Posts
You can't go wrong with the Yamaha FS/FG series.

FS are the smaller body guitars
FG are the dreadnoughts

Budget you're looking at $260 for standard model up to $550 for fancier models.

I own an FG830 and love it. I tried every acoustic at the L&M Burlington store under $1000 and bought this.

·
Premium Member
4,486 Posts
Pretty much anything made by Yamaha is going to sound great

Reactions: nman

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
You got good ideas from other members here. I would add Eastman (made in China).
You could also buy used for half to two thirds of the brand new price.
I would suggest to pay attention to string spacing compared to the width of you fingers and the height of strings at first and twelfth fret since many low grade instruments have to be adjusted (lowering the strings for a decent action).
Welcome to the acoustic guitar world ! ;-)

·
Registered
30 Posts
I agree that the yamaha acoustic is an amazing instrument for the money. The epiphone aj and dr series guitars are really affordable also. I used ultra light strings on mine and it's easy on the fingers . However , what ever you purchase it should have a set up done to ease your transistion from piano.

·
Premium Member
273 Posts