The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Attention all you amp bias masters....

I just got a new bassman LTD and just want to check the bias to make sure everything is as it should be.

I have a new bassman LTD and I have a volt/ohm meter...now what?

I've never done this before so I do need specific instructions. As I am just checking to see if everything is OK, I would prefer the simple check as opposed to the complicated one if such a choice exists.

thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
eww..a bassman

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Xanadu said:
eww..a bassman
is it the amp or my question that seems to have you upset?

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
GTmaker said:
is it the amp or my question that seems to have you upset?
oh it's the amp, I've played a couple and I don't like them as much as my yorkie. Plus I have two friends that play bassman, and they're always in the shop for something or other. (they being the amps, not my friends)

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Don't run with scissors!

GTmaker said:
Attention all you amp bias masters....

I just got a new bassman LTD and just want to check the bias to make sure everything is as it should be.

I have a new bassman LTD and I have a volt/ohm meter...now what?

I've never done this before so I do need specific instructions. As I am just checking to see if everything is OK, I would prefer the simple check as opposed to the complicated one if such a choice exists.

thanks in advance.
The short answer is...there's no simple test!

What's more, the voltages around where you have to test can hurt like blazes and in extreme cases kill!

This is the reason why many American websites will not tell newbies how to do this. Their's is a country where you can sue anybody for anything, after all. McDonald's hot coffee, anyone?

There are a number of good techie sites, like

http://www.aikenamps.com