The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to this pedal stuff. Right now I'm using a multi-effects processor, a Digitech Rp 150. I think it's great. I was wondering if it is better to have multi-effects processor or individual pedals? I guess it depends on the quality, I know that some of the effects on my pedal sound simulated. Please give feedback and any suggestions.

·
Premium Member
16,673 Posts
LOL, how much money do you have?

You can get better multi effects units for a couple of hundred $ more, but if you go with individual pedals you can be into $1000 and more to get anywhere near the variety you get with your present unit.

Does a $200. Keeley compressor sound better than the one in a typical multi effects unit? A little. Does an $100+ tube screamer sound better than the one in your unit? Not much.

Personally I've gone both routes and now I use a Vox Tonelab LE, which is more than just an effects unit. It actually replaces the amp as well. In terms of flexibility, simplicity, overall sound as well as cost effectiveness I'm very happy with it.

Multi effects units are great bang for the buck and have definite advantages IMO.

·
Registered
120 Posts
It depends on what you want as effects. I have only drive and wah in my set up so. I use an MI audio Tube Zone for my main sound, A tone Facor or Catalinbread silver Kiss for solo boosting. If i where to need reverb, delay, chorus....and all that maybe i would use a rack for the swirl and time, but still keep the drive in pedals

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
I've tried plenty of multi-effects and I've always prefered singles. Yeah, they're more expensive... but who cares? I'd rather get something I'm going to like instead of settling for something cheaper... they sound much more natural. Listening to digital overdrive / distortion tones makes me want to cry.