The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just want to be sure my understanding is correct here.

I have a Blackface BandMaster head and and when I looked up on the Fender Amp. Field Guide it stated that the amp ran 2 speakers in parallel for a total of 8 ohms. Therefore, each speaker would be rated at 4 ohms...Correct ?

I can't find any other sources that state that the Bandmaster is rated for 4 ohms impedance (searched the internet).

I'm running into a 1 X 12" cab with a speaker of 8 ohms impedance. Therefore, even though this is a mismatch, the only real concern is some loss of volume...Correct?

Will I see any change in tone if I match the impedances?
(just curious)

The reverse of this is ( i.e., 8 ohms amp impedance into a 4 ohm speaker impedance) harmful to the amp...Correct?

Thanks

Dave

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
I just want to be sure my understanding is correct here.

I have a Blackface BandMaster head and and when I looked up on the Fender Amp. Field Guide it stated that the amp ran 2 speakers in parallel for a total of 8 ohms. Therefore, each speaker would be rated at 4 ohms...Correct ?
Nope! Equal speakers in parallel will work out to half of one - so two 4 ohm speakers in parallel would give a total of 2 ohms. To get 8 ohms you would need two 16 ohm speakers.

Go back and read the Field Guide again, Dave! It says:

"Speaker/Load:
2 x 12"/4 ohms total (8 ohms each in parallel)"

That says you take two 8 ohm speakers, put 'em in parallel and the total load is then 4 ohms.

I can't find any other sources that state that the Bandmaster is rated for 4 ohms impedance (searched the internet).
Hey, the Field Guide told the truth! It's 4 ohms!:smile:

I'm running into a 1 X 12" cab with a speaker of 8 ohms impedance. Therefore, even though this is a mismatch, the only real concern is some loss of volume...Correct?