The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

Well it's been a couple weeks now since I recieved my Boss RC-20XL loop station, and putting my pedalboard together. My new setup can be seen in the "Let's see your Pedal Boards" thread. Since I'm new to using a loop station, I spent the first week playing around and getting used to it. I've pretty much got the hang of it now, and it's too much fun.

After the week of practice, I took my whole setup over to my drummer's house for a jazz/blues jam. Instead of our regular compliment of musicians, it was just me playing the bass lines and all the guitar parts; comping, head, and soloing. I used my guitar only via the pedalboard through to my Cube 60. After three hours of jamming, we both agreed that it exceeded our expectations overall. The only thing that my drummer mentioned, was that the bass was not as defined coming through my guitar amp when combined with the guitar rhythm. When we jam with our regular group, I'm playing the bass, and he's used to tuning into my bass lines. At one point, we tried plugging a set of headphones, but they weren't volume controlled, so that didn't quite work.

Since the whole setup is mono, the bass and guitar tracks can't be seperated. After some careful thought, I went on the premise that if I split the mono signal (using a splitter), I could connect the pedalboard to both my bass and guitar amps simultaneously with the expection that the bass amp would emphasize the lower bass frequencies, and the guitar amp would emphasize the higher frequencies.....even though both guitar and bass tracks are going through both amps.