The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question for anyone else who uses the Mesa Boogie F-series. This is my first tube amp and I bought it for the sound quality (I graduated from the Peavey Bandit) I've always been a bit "iffy" about the distortion channel even though it was far better than the bandit. But our new bassist who has a lot of sound experience seems to feel it's not a very good sound even though the clean channel is beautiful. I guess I need to experience hearing sounds from other amps before I can decide to believe him.

I tend to turn the pregain up to about the 3:00 position for the new rock sound. I also read that it's not a good high gain amp.

Anyone know anything about this?

·
Registered
788 Posts
I have a MarkII combo and although it has a awesome warm fendery clean, the distortion is flabby poo, just a nasty disto sound. Try hitting the clean channel with a good overdrive pedal....mine is killer this way :DevilGuitar:

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm considering an overdrive pedal but I'm not familiar with anything other than Boss pedals (I sold my metal zone and don't miss it one bit!).

Long and McQuade's pedal selection is a disgrace, do you know of any place in Toronto where I can try out better pedals than Boss? I'm looking for more of a modern rock gain - sort of like 3 Days Grace.

·
Registered
5,740 Posts
Hinrich said:
I'm considering an overdrive pedal but I'm not familiar with anything other than Boss pedals (I sold my metal zone and don't miss it one bit!).
Long and McQuade's pedal selection is a disgrace, do you know of any place in Toronto where I can try out better pedals than Boss? I'm looking for more of a modern rock gain - sort of like 3 Days Grace.
...try the radial tonebone pedals, especially the hot british.

-dh

·
Registered
189 Posts