The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks

I have a master volume pot on a Polytone amp I have that's getting wonky so I want to replace it.

There doesn't seem to be any markings on the pot but I have to admit I didn't take it out of the chassis yet.
But I did measure the ohms readings between a outside pole and middle pole with the pot on 10 ,
and this is what I got.

METER set to read 200K and the actual reading I got was 75.0.
So the question is what value pot do I need to get to replace the wonky one.?

any questions please ask.
G.

·
Premium Member
8,229 Posts
If you can read schematics, scroll down to Polytone.
Schematics

·
Premium Member
1,206 Posts
That's showing a 75k pot, which is unlikely. You're getting a false reading from something.
Everything I've looked at from polytone suggests it is a 10k pot, so best to check a schematic. What's the model of amp.
If you're reading is reasonably correct, most likely a 100k log pot.
FYI - When you check a pot, measure the two outside pins, and it usually doesn't matter where the knob is set.

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
The amp in question is a Polytone Mini Brain head...
The pot in question is a Master volume pot and a reverb volume at the same time...it has a double set of flippers.
Here is a pic of the head.
G.
P Mini Brain Head.jpg

·
Premium Member
1,206 Posts
Looks like it is 10k from the schematic.
The pot in question is a Master volume pot and a reverb volume at the same time...it has a double set of flippers.
How does that work. If you change the master you change the reverb? Odd.
That would be a dual pot.
I haven't found a mini brain schematic, but all the others I looked at had those two separate, and they were both 10k. I'd say log taper as well.

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Does the amp have two volume controls? (from your pic)
View attachment 283272 View attachment 283274