The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to buy a marshall tube amp TSL602. Does anyone know about these amps? Or what I should be looking for in a tube amp? I am a beginner when it comes to amps, I have a 2004 Standard Les Paul and want to make it sound like,
it should sound. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
13,218 Posts
I am looking to buy a marshall tube amp TSL602. Does anyone know about these amps? Or what I should be looking for in a tube amp? I am a beginner when it comes to amps, I have a 2004 Standard Les Paul and want to make it sound like,
it should sound. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Marshall amps are meant to be played LOUD. You take a loud Marshall and an LP,... you have bliss. At low volumes you may have to add an OD pedal if you to emulate that tube driven LP/Marshall sound.

So, ask yourself. How loud do I want to play? How loud can I play without the police being called or getting evicted.

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
If I were you, check out the marshall dsl50. Its very loud, but still has a nice tone at lower volumes.
I currently own one, and have played it ranging from my basement, to my main venue with seating for about 300. I love it :)

The dsl50 is also at a great price right now. I saw a head last week, in great condition, for about 850$...that is an amazing deal for such a great head.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
JCM2000 is the worst all tube Marshall available IMO, especially the cleans. And the combo you're talking about costs $1649.99 new? Go used and you can get a JCM800 or JCM900 half stack for the same price or even lower.

Looking locally right now I see a JCM800 head + the 1960 cab for $1500... a JCM900 head for $900 and a 1960 cab for $600... so for $1500 you could have a better sounding setup for less cash and they're in perfect condition.