The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So basicly I just got a Marshall Dsl 401 and an Ibanez TS9dx. The thing is I cant really get a good tone because im new to tube amps and before this I was basicly just using a crappy line 6 spider II 15w.

Im really into people like Petrucci, Vai , and Stariani so anything similair to any of their tones would be fine (if you can I prefer something similair to Petrucci's Heavy ryhthm tone)

I basicly just need somewhere to start and develop my own tones.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
ibanezlezbian said:
So basicly I just got a Marshall Dsl 401 and an Ibanez TS9dx. The thing is I cant really get a good tone because im new to tube amps and before this I was basicly just using a crappy line 6 spider II 15w.

Im really into people like Petrucci, Vai , and Stariani so anything similair to any of their tones would be fine (if you can I prefer something similair to Petrucci's Heavy ryhthm tone)

Thanks.
The Peavey JSX combo is suppose to sound pretty good. Even James Peter's didn't mind it and he's not a combo guy.

·
Premium Member
2,199 Posts
A couple of things.

General principles:

Turn off the verb. Take any pedals that you aren't using out of the chain. Turn up the master past noon to get some output distortion and sustain, then crank up the preamp gain until you get a bit of crunch. Turn the TS 9 volume to about noon, adjust the drive to taste for a fluid lead sound.

Tube screamers sound good into already overdriven amps, not so good into quiet tube amps.

They also are a bit midrange heavy, I know a lot of people prefer a distortion or overdrive with less mids. Vai uses a Boss DS1, you might want to try one if that's the sound you're looking for.