The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I've been around the site for a while now but haven't properly introduced myself. A recent post by Jeff Flowerday made me realize that those of us who peruse but don't post are considered to be 'lurking'. Yikes!, and I always thought I was just an interested onlooker, I mean 'lurking' has such a negative sound to it, anyway here is my intro post.

I first stumbled onto the GC site when I was looking for info on my Shiraki guitar, which led me to Lester B Flat, a fellow shiraki owner and GC member. I'm an OG (old guy) who hasn't played for pay since 1964, I was an okay rythym guitarist and a so so bass player. I've been out of the music scene for so long that you guys seem to be speaking a different language, I think I need a dictionary of slang terminology for guitarists, i.e. 'whammy bars', 'pups', 'GAS' (I have that), 'shredding' (is that when you try to cram about 30 notes into every bar?), anyway I feel like a rookie here amongst all you knowledgeable folks, but I'll catch on eventually.

I really enjoy your site, full of intelligent commentary and info sharing. I promise that if I ever have anything interesting or pertinent to say I will post for sure, but in the meantime I'll just be out there, you know, lurking (geez, there must be a nicer word for it)

Shad

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
shad said:
Hi everyone, I've been around the site for a while now but haven't properly introduced myself. A recent post by Jeff Flowerday made me realize that those of us who peruse but don't post are considered to be 'lurking'. Yikes!, and I always thought I was just an interested onlooker, I mean 'lurking' has such a negative sound to it, anyway here is my intro post.

Shad
Sorry, lurker is just universal forum lingo. No disrispect meant. :food-smiley-004:

·
Registered
1,865 Posts