The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my first loop pedal a couple of weeks ago. It's nothing special (used Boss RC-1) but I have got to say that I have made more advancements in my playing in those two weeks than, say, the last two years.

I have a PhD in rhythm guitar and have never had the confidence to solo, but it's amazing how quickly you can get a groove going when you lay down a three-chord loop and then start rolling out all your pentatonic scales over top. I'm sure my wife and kids absolutely LOVE it when I spend 30-minutes playing a blues scale forwards, backwards and sideways over the same E, A, B progression :)

Anyway, I'm not sure what the point of this is other than to say...if you don't feel confident with your soloing, trade one of your 14 OD/distortion pedals for a loop pedal and the magic will happen.

·
Premium Member
264 Posts
Along with an old analog metronome (hate electronic blips and beeps for this purpose), a simple looper is my best friend. Excellent way to keep practiced or work out ideas, even when lazy or just not in the mood sometimes.

It's also handy for quick compositions/demos for projects; ex. rather than repeating a simple, short progression, I'll often just lay out all parts of the song and overdub melodies, bass lines, textural stuff etc. then record that from the speaker while I do live lead and accent playing overtop. Listening to the entire three or four minute song this many times consecutively really drives home any spotty playing, and any parts that could use improvement.

The quick undue/redo functionality is particularly nice for errors-just stop when you have the best take and move on to the next dub.

·
Premium Member
4,513 Posts
I got my first loop pedal a couple of weeks ago. It's nothing special (used Boss RC-1) but I have got to say that I have made more advancements in my playing in those two weeks than, say, the last two years.