The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A group forum for anyone and everyone who likes, plays, owns a Lap Steel Guitar. Post your pictures, ask members questions. Hopefully
we will have some seasoned players who can help new players with tips and tricks they have learned................ This group is for YOU
So POST away and WELCOME!

·
Registered
236 Posts
All this interest in lapsteel all of a sudden(OK, two posts in one day...). I've been tinkering with it for a couple of years and have gathered a collection of 5 lapsteels so far. As I mentioned in the other post today, I've learned a lot from Troy Brenningmeyer's lessons. I'm currently focusing on as much blues as I can find in both C6 and G dobro. Here's a pic with 4 of them.

·
Premium Member
799 Posts
I once made a Kijiji trip to see a Gretsch, and he also had a Rickenbacher lap steel. I was so intrigued, I went back a month or two later and picked it up. It's apparently 1940's era. I've gigged it a couple of times. Wish I could play better.

·
Registered
924 Posts
Steel guitar -- with or without pedals -- used to be an almost mainstream thing. You could get lessons at the Canadian Conservatory of Music. One of my friends met his wife teaching there. Myself, I took some lap steel lessons from Hank at Blue Note Music in Ottawa on Bank Street. The first song we did was "Harbour Lights." I can still play it in my head though I no longer have my mother-of-toiletseat blue lap steel.

·
Premium Member
8,978 Posts
I once made a Kijiji trip to see a Gretsch, and he also had a Rickenbacher lap steel. I was so intrigued, I went back a month or two later and picked it up. It's apparently 1940's era. I've gigged it a couple of times. Wish I could play better.

View attachment 345320
Is it as clean as it looks, like a case queen?