The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
872 Posts
Nothing new there. You should check out the ones from planet waves, they cut the string too. My buddy has them one one of his Godins. They're pretty cool.

I

·
0 Posts
I'm going to hijack this thread and say: be very, very careful with Ed Roman's site. He's got lots of very way out there opinions on things guitar (and beyond). Take it all with a grain of salt. Understand he lives to sell the products he carries.

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice about ed roman lol...I am pretty new to his site :)

I am still gunna get these locking tuners though...Ill check out planet waves too. Do they wear out after a while, or do they last indefinately? Also, from what I understand, If I was using locking tuners I could change pickups over and over again and not have to put new strings on each time right? I could just let the strings go loose in the tuners, and then etc etc...then turn the pegs up and bring the guitar back into pitch? I bet these things work really well with whammy bars lol....

·
Registered
597 Posts
GuitaristZ said:
Thanks for the advice about ed roman lol...I am pretty new to his site :)

...If I was using locking tuners I could change pickups over and over again and not have to put new strings on each time right? I could just let the strings go loose in the tuners, and then etc etc...then turn the pegs up and bring the guitar back into pitch?
Sure. You'd have to NOT cut the excess string off the end while you're doing this.

I have Sperzels on two of my Strats, they're great! Just pull that string thru as tight as you can by hand, lock it down then it only takes a few twists to bring it up to pitch. None of that "leave several wraps around the post" stuff to slow you down. I'm even thinking of replacing the Kluson style Gohtohs on my Suhr with a staggered set of Sperzels.

I

·
0 Posts
GuitaristZ said: