The Canadian Guitar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone here use a JCM 900? I heard conflicting storties about them so was just wondering. I've had lots to do with JCM 800s, JTM and Plexis over the years but never the 900s. Anyone have opinions on these?

·
Registered
874 Posts
Had a JCM 900 head for a few years. It was a 50 watt that was switchable to 25. Great distorted tones but just a passable clean tone. Never had any reliability issues with it other than changing out tubes. I think they get a bad rap by alot of people.

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been kinda of finding that out from a few guys I've talked to. They all love the distortion of the 900. I'm starting to think I need to give one a try. I'm not to worried about cleans, most of what I play doesn't require it and if itdoes, I have fenders that can do that job.

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
My signature says it all...

As a tech, I've never liked any Marshall after the JCM800.

The 900 gets some of its distortion by putting in diodes and solid state stuff. The 2000 has even more. I freely admit I'm a dyed in the wool tube bigot but that's because I find distortion from solid state devices to be harsh and fuzzy.

Puttting solid state devices before the amp input can sound ok. A Les Paul into a TS-808 into a Marshall Plexi, driving a 4-12 of vintage Celestions is my absolute dream tone.

And not the new 'Made in China' Celestions. How could you expect a country that shoots people for listening to rock and roll to build a good rock speaker? Notice how the Ebay price of REAL greenbacks is climbing and climbing!

Angus Young and his brother figured it out years ago. No master volume crap, just turn the amp up loud enough that you can get some power amp distortion happening. If the amp is too loud then run a smaller one that you CAN run at 8 or 9!

Just my humble opinion...

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #5